top of page
  • Writer's pictureStacey Winter-Davis

Survey Response Summary

Using the “Summary” option on Google Forms, I began analyzing my students’ feedback from the participant survey. Google Forms also offers a useful tool to convert the data to a Google Sheet. On the Sheet, I separated the two groups, tallied totals and averages, then compared the control and test group responses. Overall, educational technology and choice were favored, but the results were not as dramatic as I was hoping.

The first significant data that jumped out at me was they like ed-tech, but they still find it confusing at 53% agreeing with the statement “educational technology is confusing and keeps me from wanting to complete the assignment.” That result can potentially be attributed to being thrown into remote learning last March without enough experience and in-person training on the various ed-tech applications. Since I consistently used ed-tech prior to the start of remote learning in March, I was curious if there was any correlation between students I had last year versus those I did not. There did not appear to be a correlation, but I noticed students in the test group chose the EdPuzzle assignment from the choice board demonstrating their comfort with that particular application.

Another response of note is that they still like to have traditional options with 81% agreeing with the statement “Choice boards should include traditional options as well as online options.” For some, choice causes anxiety (38%), but the majority of students said having the option to choose increases their interest in the assignment (82%.) More members of the control group said they prefer using online resources compared to textbooks, which interestingly is what the control group was assigned. Several students in the control group did not finish the textbook activity when it was assigned. I’m not surprised they answered this way on that particular statement.

When it comes to procrastination, there was a noticeable difference between the two groups. The choice group said they procrastinate less, where many of the control group participants claimed they would still procrastinate. Overall though, students are split 50/50 on the issue of procrastination. As twelfth graders, I’m impressed that they recognize their tendencies to procrastinate or not.


This data is interesting because of the insight into my students’ minds that it provides. I plan to share this information with my fellow 11th & 12th grade teachers. Our students want to have both online and traditional options, but they want to feel more comfortable using online options. Though I currently have a Bitmoji Classroom full of how-to videos available to my students, I see our task ahead as providing more how-to type lessons to our students so they feel more comfortable.

20 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page